It’s Been Awhile (I should be doing microeconomics homework)

I took this shot from the parkade near my tailor’s shop.

This summer has been ridiculously busy; somehow I developed a social life, I gave up most of the processed sugar in my diet and lost 10 or so pounds, and then I decided to start taking belly dancing classes.  So I’ve extended my microeconomics…and should be doing it right now…which means, of course, that I’m going to write about music on my blog.  Specifically, my music addictions.

Very recently, while perusing the Twitter, one of the posters I read (okay, it was Erin Karpluk of Being Erica fame) posted a link to this video by The National and I had to immediately borrow the album from the library, and shortly thereafter I bought it on iTunes.  I absolutely adore the combination of the vocalist’s deep and mildly lazy-sounding voice with the busy-ness going on with the rest of the instruments.  Also, any song gently including the lyrics, “I was afraid that I’d eat your brains ’cause I am evil,” is okay with me.  A band that writes something like that is going to become an instant favourite.

And the day I bought the Muppets: The Green Album on iTunes, I was showing the OK Go video to a buddy when he said, “My brother introduced me to these guys, check out this video.”

Afterwards I went home and bought The Cave Singers‘ latest album, No Witch on iTunes.  I love the almost 60s Folk-Rock sound these guys have.  I have since chastised my buddy for distracting me from the Muppet covers.  But I forgave him instantly because The Cave Singers’ music is so awesome, I can’t get over it.  I have to listen to this album at least once a day, and it’s great for summer/autumn road-tripping.  I’m so addicted, I’ve bought more of their music because it’s just so…I can’t explain how much I love it.  It’s like, down in my core.  Love.  LOVELOVELOVE.

 

One thought on “It’s Been Awhile (I should be doing microeconomics homework)

Leave a Reply

