And I Watch it Try Befriending Embers*

Mother Mother were in town last night and I got to see them!  They opened for Our Lady Peace at EdFest (but I didn’t stick around for OLP).

Mother Mother Ed Fest Stage

Mother Mother Ed Fest Stage Zoom

My friend thought it wasn’t their best show, having seen them play at better and more intimate venues, but I reasoned that it’s difficult to play such an event where 90% of the crowd is just waiting for the headliners.  Besides, I highly enjoyed it and danced my tailbone off (as best I could considering how many people were in my bubble); maybe my friend was just dismayed by the inattentive crowd (though there were many of us fans dotting the audience).

Then, I got to get their autographs (Ack!).

Mother Mother Autographs

And a pic of them.

Mother Mother Autograph Session

Sigh.  They’re still the prettiest band ever, and now I’ve discovered that they’re nice too, which is great; so often I’ve met or run into someone of notoriety whom I’ve adored and upon meeting them my infatuation was tarnished, but not with these guys and gals!

Edit:  I realised that I consistently only pay attention to the prettiness of this band on my blog, and don’t actually discuss why I love their music, and the truth of the matter is, I loved the band before I saw them live last summer.  So here it is: the vocalists sing with fantastic harmonies, the drummer has that rare skill of drumming in tempo and throwing in out of tempo beats (as I’ve noticed in Tool, so he is godlike now too), the bassist is great at the bass but also plays the saxophone (and apparently the clarinet), the female vocalists also accompany with keyboards, and the lead singer plays a wicked guitar.  And then there are the clever lyrics and fantastic writing of which I cannot even begin to acclaim because I can’t organise my thoughts on the greatness, and the eclectic styles within the albums; you get some fairly modern-pop sounds that suddenly merge into ’30s jazz…my goodness I can’t explain the joy.  I first heard of them in January or February 2008 when “Train of Thought” played on the CBC Radio 3 podcast and knew I had to buy their Touch Up album when it came out.  And now with O My Heart, they’re just knocking me out. 

Also, last night, they played some new stuff, as they did last summer when I saw them at the now defunct Velvet Underground (that space changes names almost as often as I change my underwear…I do speak with hyperbole), and I have to give them kudos for working so dang hard!  This is not an idle band, and I love them.

*Lyric from title track  “O My Heart” by Mother Mother

Leave a Reply

