I Like Linen

Today is Election day here in Canada…let’s see if we get a new Prime Minister…

Um.  Okay, so I’ll admit, there’s been a dirth of linen in the costume shop I work at.  I do most of my fabric shopping in quilt stores so there’s not a lot of linen offerings.  So when I was in Montreal, Firefly generously drove me into a warehouse-y part of town where we checked out Telio and I found some linen.

As most of the costumes are out at the dry-cleaners right now (green cleaners too!), we’ve got some time to do some sewing, so I built a man’s bib-front shirt (The Victorian Shirt #202 from Folkwear Patterns; sometimes it’s nice not to have to draft everything).   I think it will look way better on a real man, beneath a waistcoat, but the thing I have to say about linen is how crisp the pressed seams are.  You could slice bread with these things!

Leave a Reply

