Surprise! It’s another sock!

Yes, I knit a lot of single socks. My yarn store boss always asks, “Why socks?” And I always say, “Because they’re quick, and easily transportable, and there’s rarely any seaming to be done.”

And I like sock yarns.

Like.

Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock (80% Superwash Wool, 20% Nylon) in Black Purl.

Zephyr Patterned Sock

I knit this sock up on 2.5 mm needles, basing my pattern on the Zephyr Socks pattern by domesticrafts. I had originally planned on knitting her Drunken Bees Socks after I learned of them on Mog’s Blog, but the delightful pattern was lost in the dye job, so I went with the Zephyr Socks. It’s based on the pattern because my yarn was finer and the needles were narrower, and I ended up using 72 stitches rather than the recommended 54. So I knit the chart and used the heel method but did everything with a different amount of stitches…which made me feel smug because I felt like a knitting goddess (I finally have socks figured out) but I realised long into the instep that I had not followed her instructions on the instep yarn overs. I thought to myself as I went along patternless (because I was carrying enough with me at the Folk Fest and I worked most of the heel and the instep stitches there), I’m missing a step in here…and then I didn’t omit the yarn overs when I started the toe…but I’m happy with the way it turned out. It’s a comfy sock.

Of course, it took most of a skein (Lorna’s Laces is one of those yarns that requires two skeins for a pair of socks), and I am definitely a second-sock-itis kind of girl. But there it is. Another finished sock.

6 thoughts on “Surprise! It’s another sock!

  1. So what do you do with your single socks? Wear two different ones at a time? Hang them about your apartment? Pile them on your bed and snuggle down in them? Hee hee! Seriously, though, I really love the way the colors turned out on this one.

  2. Pingback: Buzzy buzz, buzzy buzz. « Indulging my Inner Knitter (Mog’s Blog)

Leave a Reply

